President William Ruto in a past function.
National News

President Ruto creates National Lottery Taskforce.

In a move aligned with Kenya Kwanza’s Bottom-Up Economic Transformation Agenda (BETA), President Ruto has created a taskforce consisting of 27 members whose primary objective will be to oversee the implementation of a national lottery program.

The announcement was made via a Gazette notice dated February 17, where the President stated that the lottery program would increase government revenue collection to fulfill its commitments to the public.

Head of Public Service Felix Koskei issued a statement announcing that President William Samoei Ruto has appointed a Presidential Taskforce to establish a National Lottery. The task force will be structured into two tiers-the Steering Committee and the Technical Committee.

A violent confrontation, between UDA and Azimio in Kisii leaves 10 hospitalized.

The statement explains that the National Lottery aims to leverage the collective power of the public to contribute to good causes and help those in need.

The lottery’s proceeds will be directed towards social causes and needs as part of the government’s Bottom-Up Economic Transformation Agenda (BETA), a transformative plan to mobilize resources and suplement the administration’s efforts.

Uhuru is negligent and Raila selfish-Sabina Chege

The steering committee will comprise of 14 members while the technical committee will have 10. Both committees will operate for three months, with the former including representatives from the Treasury, Interior, Culture and Heritage and Social Protection ministries, as well as the Solicitor-General and a representative from the council of governors.

The steering committee will be headed by Dr. Narendra Raval, deputized by Gideon G Thuranira.

Dr. Linda Musumba will chair the technical committee which includes Wanjiku Wakogi, Dr Eric Aligula, Collins Kiprono, Peter Mbugi, Fred Mbasi, Geoffrey Malombe, Eric Korir, Wilson Njenga, Catherine Ochanda and Murimi Murage.

The committees will have Clinton Mwita and Margaret Githaiga as joint secretaries.

It will be based at State House, and will conduct a comprehensive review of best practices for establishing national lotteries and develop a policy and implementation plan for the operation of the lottery in Kenya.

In addition, the members will liase with all relevant stakeholders, examine the existing administrative, institutional, policy, and legislative frameworks in the betting and gaming industry, and propose comprehensive reforms.